Day 30: Cumin Scented Oven-Baked Ribs

I enjoy these days I have of putting something into the oven or crock pot, and just letting it become delightful. Today, we made short ribs, and yes, they fell off the bone. This would make a good weekend dinner (or day where you had three hours to devote to cooking).

Executive Decisions

  • Since we only did one rack of ribs, we halved the recipe. That being said, I read teaspoon as tablespoon when dealing with the cumin, so I added “too much.” I use the quotes because it was not too much.
  • I will preface these executive decisions with telling you we bought a 29-ounce can of tomato puree. This was the only can they had, so we doubled this recipe (in hopes of using this BBQ sauce in the future).
  • Allison added 3/4 cup of balsamic vinegar, 4 tablespoons of worcestershire, 2 tablespoons of cayenne and about 1 tablespoon of BBQ seasoning. She did this because the original sauce was way too sweet for us.

How was it?

Fall off the bone yummy. “purty darn good” in Allison’s words.
IMG_3425-ps

Things We Would Change

  • I have no idea what is going on with the top of the ribs when you get short ribs, but next time we will get baby back. I have about a pound of this area of the ribs, and I have no idea how to chop it so I can eat it.
4 comments

  1. Short ribs are one of my favorite things to cook. They are delicious when braised in beef stock, red wine, and port. Short ribs come from the short rib plate, more on the underside of the cow, and the meat is only on one side of the bone. The top is fat, if you aren’t braising them you should trim it off. Braising them for a few hours allows the fat to melt and be meaty and delicious, however if it is really hard fat it should be trimmed. Hope that helps!

  2. Pingback: Day 33: Quick Pulled Pork Sandwiches « Lubbock or Eat It

  3. I think you could still trim the fat and then cut the meat off the bone if you wanted? I was sort of confused by what you meant about the top? I didn’t know if you were talking about the fat cap, or just the fact that the meat is more on top of the bone, rather than in between the bones like baby backs. Anywho, just trying to help because beef short ribs are AMAZING and I loves them. Food is good.


Leave a Reply

